University of Tasmania
proc-april-1887.pdf (712.8 kB)

Proceedings of the Royal Society for the month of April, 1887

Download (712.8 kB)
journal contribution
posted on 2023-11-22, 08:36 authored by Royal Society of Tasmania
The opening meeting of the Royal Society for the Session 1887 took place on April 19th, when His Excellency Sir Robert G. Crookshank Hamilton, K.C.B., took the chair, as President, at 7 .30pm. There was a large attendance, over 60 Fellows being present, and several visitors.
Among the Fellows present were the Bishcp of Tasmania, Sir Lambert Dobson, the Hons. P. 0. Fysh, A. I. Clark, and Alfred Dobson.
His Excellency, who was accompanied by Lady Hamilton, and Mr. H. W. B. Robinson, the private secretary.
The following gentlemen were declared elected as Fellows of the Society :—Revs. Canon Geo. Fred. Archer, A. Martin, P. E. Raynor, Warden of Christ's College; Colonel Cruickshank, R.E., Messrs. W. Sleeman, C.E., Edward David Dobbie, Solicitor-General, George Wilson Waterhouse, B.A., barrister at-law, C J. Parkinson, M.D., House-Surgeon Hobart Hospital, and Wm. Benson.
Includes a list of additions to the library during the months of January, February, and March.
Also includes progress resport on Recommendations from the Antarctic Committee, appointed by the Royal Society of Victoria and the Royal Geographical Society of Australia (Victorian Branch), to the Hon. the Premier and discussion on papers read to the Society


Publication title

Papers & Proceedings of the Royal Society of Tasmania



Rights statement

In 1843 the Horticultural and Botanical Society of Van Diemen's Land was founded and became the Royal Society of Van Diemen's Land for Horticulture, Botany, and the Advancement of Science in 1844. In 1855 its name changed to Royal Society of Tasmania for Horticulture, Botany, and the Advancement of Science. In 1911 the name was shortened to Royal Society of Tasmania..

Usage metrics

    Royal Society of Tasmania


    No categories selected


    Ref. manager