University Of Tasmania

File(s) under permanent embargo

Separation of inorganic and organic ionic components of Bayer liquor by capillary zone electrophoresis. I. Optimisation of resolution using electrolytes containing surfactant mixtures

journal contribution
posted on 2023-05-16, 09:44 authored by Paul HaddadPaul Haddad, Harakuwe, AH, Buchberger, W
The simultaneous separation of chloride, sulfate, oxalate, malonate, fluoride, formate, phosphate, carbonate and acetate in Bayer liquor using capillary zone electrophoresis with indirect detection is demonstrated using electrolytes comprising binary mixtures of the surfactants tetradecyltrimethylammonium bromide (TTAB) and dodecyltrimethylammonium bromide (DTAB). Two optimal electrolyte compositions were identified, namely 3 mM TTAB, 3 mM DTAB and 7.5 mM chromate at pH 9 (optimum 1) and 5 mM TTAB, 1 mM DTAB and 5.5 mM chromate at pH 9 (optimum 2). The separation selectivities of these electrolytes differ and the choice between them rests on consideration of the relative concentrations of the ionic species in the sample. Best results were obtained when the Bayer liquor sample was diluted by a factor of 500 before analysis. Linear calibrations were achieved in the working concentration range (1–10 μg/ml) and detection limits fell in the range 0.09–0.34 μg/ml for optimum 1 and 0.16–0.88 μg/ml for optimum 2. Recoveries of ions added to the diluted sample were close to quantitative, except for phosphate which showed low and variable recovery, and carbonate which was also variable due to absorption of carbon dioxide by the sample. Tartrate and succinate could not be resolved with either of the optimal electrolyte compositions.


Publication title

Journal of Chromatography A










School of Natural Sciences


Elsevier Science Bv

Place of publication

Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Rights statement

The definitive version is available at

Repository Status

  • Restricted

Socio-economic Objectives

Expanding knowledge in the chemical sciences

Usage metrics

    University Of Tasmania